Posted by: nikusjka | May 24, 2010

My Life in Ruins

I just finally watched the movie with my favorite Nia Vardalos – “My life in ruins”. And I must say it is great!!! It is greekalicious!!!!!

Fantastic main cast, lost of humor and spectacular sights in Athens!

Nia`s character is a tour guide Georgia whose passion is ancient Greek history. She tries hard to share it with the tourists, but mostly they get bored from years, facts and countless temples. But when finally Nia decides to quit the job and go back to US she finds her kefi and true love. By the way kefi:

Kefi is a hard-to-translate word which has been described by various Greeks as meaning the spirit of joy, passion, enthusiasm, high spirits, or frenzy. The custom of smashing plates is considered an expression of kefi, when the soul and body are overwhelmed with an exuberance that must find an outlet.

The movie would be especially interested to those who have been to Greece or know something about Greek habits. It is full with humor about Greek daily life, but the main thing that I loved about it was the philosophy of life that every Greek has -“how can you plan life?? Where is your kefi?”

Quotes like:

Elevator broke down.

Georgia: we have to take the stairs..

Prokop: why?

Georgia: Because it is Greece!

.. made me laugh so much! And the romantic phrase “You are looking for obstacles rather than magic” made me almost cry…

Wonderful movie!

Responses

  1. […] I realized where a lovely song from one of my favorite movies “My Life in Ruins” comes from. The part where they all sit around a bonfire and Georgia sings some song in Greek.. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

