Posted by: nikusjka | February 25, 2010

Back online!

Geia sas!

My apologies for not writing for such a long time, but I have been really busy with studies! Student life.. you know šŸ˜‰
But (as always hehe) I got tired of snow and winter in here and I got horribly “Greeksick” again. So no big wonder I booked tickets and after 2 weeks on the 8th of February I was back in Athens! šŸ™‚ Most of my friends were shocked, because of such unexpected arrival, but everyone was happy, of course. Even my dear friend Vaggelis came to see me from Larrisa (that is kinda far away from Athens) and it was the best thing he could do! Efharistw mpoumpoukos! šŸ™‚

I didn`t do much this time though.. Just hanging around the city, drinking frappes, going shopping, trying to find sights I haven`t captured with my camera yet.

Also that week was a carnival week in Greece and there was a huge parade in Patras on Sunday, a lovely city in the northern Peloponnese. We didn`t go, because I was leaving on Monday, nevertheless we visited a small one in Keratea, a small municipality located 41 km southeast of Athens where my friend Aspa lives with her adorable family and amazing sister! šŸ™‚
Many people, especially children, were dressed up and everything was very colorful and covered with loads of traditional dance and music. All the streets were bright from tinsel and paper garlands and I was wondering who and how was going to clean it the next day. In the end they burned the “Carnival Doll”, that meant that everything was over.

Athens, Greece 2010. Burning carneval doll in Keratea.

Burning carnival doll in Keratea. Greece 2010

To be honest this ritual reminded me a lot of old Russian celebration – “maslenica”. Is comes from pagan times and is suppose to represent soon forthcoming of spring. There is also a doll called “Maslenica” that is burned down on Sunday, after one week of eating pancakes (symbolizing sun), different open-air activities and other things. Maybe those two traditions have something in common?

Athens, Greece 2010. greek man with balloons Keratea carnival.

Funny Greek man with balloons at Keratea carnival.

And here comes my favorite picture from the carnival! I`d call it – “A sad leopard” :))) Enjoy!

Athens, Greece 2010. kid dressed as a leopard keratea carnival

A kid dressed as a leopard Keratea carnival. My favorite photo! šŸ™‚

Besides carnival I managed to visit seaside i Voula, that was gorgeous (I`ll put some photos later on) as well as learned to prepare real Greek (or Turkish.. I think no one still can really decide where is belongs to) coffee. But this is a photo lesson for my next post! šŸ™‚

Greek coffee Athens Greece 2010..so far, kalinyxta!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

